Journalism Students Earn Accolades from the Nebraska JEA

Results from the 2022 Winter JEA Nebraska contest have arrived. The contest is sponsored by the Nebraska members of the Journalism Education Association as a service to prepare member schools for the NSAA State Journalism competition. For full school results, visit this page:

Network Staff Award Winners received their certificates on Jan. 26. They will scrapbook these certificates in the “string book” at the end of the school year.

Awards were earned by students in Journalism I and Honors Journalism II Yearbook/Newspaper and Burn Magazine:

Superiors – only the top 9% of entries earned this honor

Column WritingSuperiorMelina Piperis
Column WritingSuperiorEliza Turco
Editorial WritingSuperiorAvery Kinnison, Chioma Aloziem, Sydney Schroeder
Entertainment WritingSuperiorMelina Piperis
Feature WritingSuperiorElleiana Green
Sports Feature WritingSuperiorElleiana Green & Mak Darrow
Sports News CoverageSuperiorElise Moulton
InDepth Newspaper CoverageSuperiorJordan Moser, Bailey Kollasch, Elleiana Green, Elizabeth Monzu


AdvertisingExcellentAshley Doehner
Editorial CartooningExcellentElleiana Green
Editorial WritingExcellentElliana Green
Entertainment WritingExcellentAnna Rasgorshek
Infographic DesignExcellentLiv Birnstihl
Sports Feature WritingExcellentElise Moulton
Sports News CoverageExcellentAshley Johanek
Headline Writing & DesignExcellentAshley Doehner
Photo/Artistic IllustrationExcellentJordan Moser
Yearbook Feature WritingExcellentAshley Doehner
Yearbook LayoutExcellentAshley Doehner 
InDepth Newspaper CoverageExcellentMaddie Adam, Mak Darrow, Elise Moulton, Jordan Moser
Literary MagazineExcellentBurn Magazine
Broadcast PSAExcellentEmily Martin
Broadcast Feature StoryExcellentMeghan Bartness, Lauren Martin, Ally Ravsnborg
NewswritingExcellent Elleianna Green & Jordan Moser

Honorable Mentions

Newspaper LayoutHonorable MentionJordan Moser
Editorial CartooningHonorable MentionMelina Piperis
Feature WritingHonorable MentionBailey Kollasch
Infographic DesignHonorable MentionAnna Rasgorshek
Photo/Artistic IllustrationHonorable MentionMak Darrow
Yearbook Feature WritingHonorable MentionLany Gregor
Yearbook Sports WritingHonorable MentionLany Gregor
Yearbook Theme Copy WritingHonorable MentionSydney Witkowski
Yearbook LayoutHonorable MentionBella Beck
Broadcast Sports StoryHonorable MentionElla Plank, Matilda Lang, Mary Ambrose
Broadcast PSAHonorable MentionKyra McFadden
Broadcast Feature StoryHonorable MentionMaddie Balus, Elsa Jurrens, Mallory Connealy
Broadcast ProgramHonorable MentionAmelia Roth, Grace Diers, Audrey Ehlers, Megan Patterson
Broadcast ProgramHonorable MentionMallory Connealy, Elsa Jurrens, Maddie Balus

Yearbook seniors showcase their awards.
J1 MBeat Team Award Winners
J1 M-Beat Team Winners
J1 M-Beat Team Winners
J1 M-Beat Team Winners
J1 MBeat Team winners for Broadcast PSA

Burn Magazine Staff – winner of an EXCELLENT award for the Fall Edition – photo coming soon!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s